About the Corning Joint Fire District

2019 Leadership

(L-R) Deputy Chiefs Mike Mahnke, Adam Nehring; Commissioners John Clarkson, Dave Shafer, Chet Tuttle; Chief Mike Brenning; Commisssioners Brian VanDusen, Ryan Burrell

DoorThe Corning Joint Fire District (CJFD) was organized as a district corporation in Steuben County, NY on October 2, 2019 and commenced operations as “Department 47“ on January 1, 2020.  CJFD provides fire prevention and suppression services, emergency rescue and basic life support (BLS) services, public assistance during natural emergencies, and other activities deemed from time to time to be in the best interest of residents and businesses within the geographic area that comprises the joint fire district.

Formation of the CJFD assigned responsibility for most of the financial and administrative business operations of these member organizations, including strategic planning, financing, budget, risk management and asset management to a 5-member Board of Fire Commissioners. Responsibility for preparedness to respond, membership training and performance of emergency response activities is managed and supervised under a unified command structure by the District Fire Chief and two Deputy Fire Chiefs.

Emergency response services are performed by the active membership of the following member organizations:

CJFD and the member organizations that comprise the fire departments of the district are committed to providing exceptional service to community residents and businesses and a safe working environment for its members to help prevent work-related accidents, illnesses, and injuries.  They also endeavor to comply with all applicable NYS and federal laws and regulations pertaining to the performance of tasks and prime functions associated with providing fire protection and suppression, rescue, basic life support and other types of emergency response activities.

The administrative office for the CJFD is located at the Corning Town Hall, 20 South Maple Street, Corning, NY.   While the office is not staffed on a regularly scheduled basis, non-emergent messages can be left at (607) 936-8287 (e.g. Town of Corning; press option# 8 for “Fire Commissioners”) and they will be returned as quickly as possible.  If you have an emergency situation to report, contact the Steuben County Emergency Dispatch Center at 911.